The Winneba Diocesan MYF from Thursday 25th April to Sunday 28th April, marked its 10th Biennial Delegates Conference at the St. Paul Methodist Church premises, Winneba. The Conference which is marked every 2 years to reflect on what has transpired in the Diocese and make resolutions for the subsequent years was marked with colourful activities.
The 10th Biennial Conference which was attended by close to 300 delegates from 18 circuits in the Winneba Diocese was under the Chairmanship of Bro. George Kyei Dankwah who chaired all the proceedings and controlled businesses of the Conference. The Conference which was on the theme: “Intensifying our Teaching Ministry towards Disciple Making; the Young Person in Focus”
was graced by various dignitaries in the Methodist Church.

At the Official Opening of the Conference, the Guest Speaker Mr. E. K. T. Osam (Former Headmaster of Swedru SHS and Ghana National College) told the young people to commit to the work of God and live by the standards of the Methodist Church. Officially declaring the Conference duly opened, the Diocesan Bishop, Rt. Rev. P. S. Grant Essilfie charged the young Methodists to be ready to be taught. He said “a disciple must first sit under the feet of his Master to be equipped and empowered”. The event was also graced by the Winneba Diocesan Lay Chairman, Bro. Nicholas Taylor who also took turn to congratulate the Diocesan MYF for the Oguan Church project and urged them to remain committed to evangelism which is the core mandate of the Church.

MYF Winneba Diocesan

Other dignitaries who graced the occasion were the Diocesan Youth Organizer, Rev. Samuel Koranteng Sakyi, Connexional MYF Chairman, Bro. Isdor Oheneba, Very Rev. Isaac K. Acquah (Supt. Minister, Winneba Circuit), Very Rev. Emmanuel Paapa Abakah (Supt. Minister, Kwanyako Circuit), Very Rev. Arkaifie, Hon. Dr. Robert A. Ghanney (Immediate Past Lay Chairman, Winneba Diocese), among others.

In pursuance of Article 15, Section 1(A) of the Fellowship’s Bye laws, the Conference was to vet and elect new executives for the next 3 years since the current administration tenure ends in September. After the electoral college proceedings, the following brethren were elected to steer the affairs of the Diocesan MYF for the next 3 years (2019 – 2021).

  1. Bro. Barnabas Coffie Gyagri – Chairman.
  2. Bro. Shadrack Nyansah – Vice Chairman.
  3. Sis. Judith Amo Blankson – Secretary.
  4. Bro. Emmanuel Essoun – Assistant Secretary.
  5. Bro. Stephen Acquah – Financial Secretary.
    Meanwhile the Diocesan Treasurer position remains vacant due to improper filing of nomination.

The Vetting Panel was chaired by the former DYO of the Winneba Diocese, Very Rev. Sarfo Anning. Also at the vetting were the Rev. Samuel Koranteng Sakyi (DYO), Bro. Kwame Acheampong (Connexional Financial Secretary), Sis. Elizabeth Sackey (Connexional Coopted Member) Bro. Joseph Yokoso (Diocesan Ex – Officio), Bro. Seth (Diocesan YMD Treasurer) and Bro. Eric Bimpeh (Diocesan YMD Secretary).

Aside the main businesses of the Conference, there was a visit to Rafiki Children’s Home to deliver undisclosed amount of money and other consumables. Speaking at the children’s home, the Chairman of the Winneba Diocesan MYF expressed how passionate the Fellowship feels about giving back to the needy and poor which is a foremost consideration in Christian life. “I know this may not be enough, but at least, it tells how we love our little brethren. We can only hope to get more help and support anytime possible”, Bro. George Kyei Dankwah added.

There was an energizing keep fit, health screening, relationship talks as well as Dinner and Awards Night which made it possible for some distinguished circuits, branches and members of the Fellowship to be acknowledged. Addressing the various winners of the award, the Chairman of the Planning Committee of the Conference and Diocesan Vice Chairman, Bro. Benjamin Essilfie urged the brethren to relentlessly commit to the work of the Fellowship, the Church and God at large

The Conference was climaxed with a Divine and Thanksgiving Service at the St. Paul Methodist Church where closing courtesies were made. The next conference was to be held in the Asikuma Circuit in the year 2021.

Reported By: The Winneba Diocesan MYF Media Team.
Powered By: Deefio Arts & Events®

Reported By: The Winneba Diocesan MYF Media Team.
Powered By: Deefio Arts & Events®