BREAKING NEWS: Arago Jamal handed maiden call up by Liberia national team coach Butler


Ghanaian-born Liberian international Arago Jamal has been handed his maiden call up into the Lone Stars by coach Peter Butler for their upcoming World Cup qualifiers, the Liberian FA has confirmed.

Arago was one of three uncapped players who have been handed their initial call ups by the gaffer in a 22-man squad for the final World Cup qualifiers against Nigeria and Central African Republic (CAR).

Arago, who plies his trade with Azerbaijan side Sabail FK, has been in a stupendous form this season after guiding Drita FC of Kosovo to the second spot on the league and staging an incredible outing in the UEFA Europa Conference League.

Arago featured for the Black Satellites during the qualifiers for the 2013 Africa Youth Championship but didn’t make the final squad due to injury.

The 28-year-old, who also has two under-20 friendly caps for Ghana, qualifies to play for Liberia following his grandmother’s lineage.

Liberia will take on Nigeria on 13 November and CAR on 16 November at the Stade Ibn Batouta in Tangiers, Morocco.

Jamal was eligible to play for Ghana after featuring for the U17 and U20 sides but the continuous refusal to hand him a call up by several Ghana national team coaches forced him to follow his grandmother.

Despite playing as a center back, Jamal who has a lethal left-foot also plays as a left back, a left wing back, a left winger and a holding midfielder.

His versatility is a huge trump card the Lone Stars can benefit immensely from.

Jamal is expected to join his team mates this week to start preparations for the games ahead.

Below is the full squad for Liberia

Goalkeepers: Derrick Julu (Watanga FC), Tommy Songo (LISCR FC) and Boison Wynney de Souza (FC Someșul Dej, Romania)

Defenders: Sampson Dweh and Ben Benaiah (LPRC Oilers); Alvin Maccornel and Carlos Williams (Watanga FC); Prince Balde (FC Drita, Kosovo), Jamal Arago (Sabail FK, Azerbaijan) and Mark Pabai (PEC Zwolle, Netherlands)

Midfielders: Abrahim Mohammed “Brem” Soumaoro (PAEEK FC, Cyprus), Seth Kanteh Hellberg (IK Brage, Sweden), Allen Njie (FC Aarau, Switzerland), Marcus Macauley (Sahab FC, Jordan), Oscar Murphy Dorley (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Justin Paul Salmon (Degerfors IF, Sweden) and Abu Kamara (FC Makedonija, North Macedonia)

Forwards: Peter Wilson (Olympiakos Nicosia, Cyprus), Moussa Sanoh (CS Mioveni, Romania), Van Dave Harmon (KF Laci, Albania), Kpah Sherman (Kedah FC, Malaysia) and Sylvanus Nimely (Ilves, Finland)


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button